Sometimes I Surprise Myself

31 05 2010

As you know from the last entry, I was feeling rather upset about the lack of weight loss in the last 2 weeks.  This past weekend, my family and I were invited up to the cottage belonging to close friends of ours.  I decided I would try to run at least once while we were up there, and otherwise to relax and enjoy the food, wine, beer, and sunshine.  Next week I’ll get back on track, I thought.

Well, we had a fantastic time.  I ate sensibly, didn’t really count on LoseIt on Friday at all.  Saturday morning I got up and ran before eating, hoping to boost some fat loss – I read somewhere if you can manage to walk or run before breakfast (most days I can’t because I’m getting my kids off to school and it’s a good 90 minutes between wake up and workout).  I ran 6.5km using the EI10K (Ease Into 10k) app on my phone.  I brought the dog with me because we were in bear country and even though she’d be useless with a bear around, I felt better.  Boy does running in bear country make a huge difference in your heart rate.  My imagination is a wild one and I had visions of a freakin’ bear coming out of the woods and what a great meal my fat ass would make.

I tracked food on Saturday, and even with 3 beers, I was below the line!  Groovy.

Sunday was the day we came home so 4-5 hours in the car + sunburn + two nights of not-great sleeping – my plans to work out when I got home were gone.  We ate a healthy dinner and again I was in check for food.

This morning I stepped on the scale and had gone from 176.5 on Friday morning to 174.  I was absolutely pumped to get going on this journey again so I got to the gym early, lifted weights for my upper body like Britt and Lisa suggested, and then did my favorite class: Zumba!

If you’ve never done Zumba, I guarantee you will love it.  It’s latin dancing/exercise and it is a solid hour of fun.  It’s like a dance party in the gym.  Our instructor is awesome and full of energy – she really makes the class.  This morning another trainer was in there watching and she said she was looking to recruit someone to be a second teacher.  The class is always at full capacity so I’m glad they are adding another class.  Woo!

I’m always looking for more things to try to keep me exercising and this is definitely my favorite – well, this and ball hockey. And running.  And biking.  I’m going to try Newbody and Awesome Abs tomorrow – hopefully they are a good workout!

Actions

Information

8 responses

31 05 2010
Lisa

YAYYY! It’s so frustrating when the scale gets stuck, so I’m really happy for you that you broke through.

I haven’t tried Zumba but I’ve heard it’s awesome. I want to try that and Bikram yoga soon. Right now I’m mulling over buying a new bike. I’m just not sure how much I’d use it or where to fit it in my workout rotation.

1 06 2010
Sugarpants

I would love to try Bikram Yoga too but I’m very limited here unless I want to drive to London. I’ve been using the free yoga (and other) exercise videos at http://www.exercisetv.tv/workout-videos/.

I hope you do try Zumba! Let me know if you like it – I think you will.

31 05 2010
Tiffany

I have the summer off from work and I’m going to check out the Zumba class at a nearby studio. You’re doing GREAT!

1 06 2010
Sugarpants

Oh I’m so glad you came over to this little space! Thanks Tiffany! You will probably love Zumba – it’s like a party, for serious.

1 06 2010
moosh in indy.

Hooping. Steph from Adventures in Babywearing got me into it and whoo!
Maybe it’s better with a five year old girl around, but I do it an awful lot without her around.

(hoopnotica.com if you are piqued…)

2 06 2010
Sugarpants

I am piqued – I’ll check it out!

1 06 2010
Lara

Woohoo! Good for you!
I’m getting Loseit right now. you are inspiring me! 🙂

2 06 2010
Sugarpants

Thanks – I hope you like LoseIt. It works if you use it – and the nutritional info helps a lot too. I’m about to post about that.

Leave a Reply

