Welcome!

27 05 2010

Welcome to my little home on the net.  I’m “Sugarpants.”  This is where I would like to share my progress so far, share recipes and stories, struggles and successes.

I’m a 30 something year old woman, 5’7″ and when I started this journey, I weighed 220 pounds.  I’ve lost 46.5 of those pounds over the last 2 years, falling off the wagon several times.  My goal is to lose about 36.5 more to get to my goal weight of 140.  I have never been an athlete and I’m discovering that somewhere deep inside me is a person who is really starting to feel strong and enjoy both exercise and team sports.

In March 2010, I began running again.  At the time, I weighed 191 pounds.  I was over-eating, making horrible choices and I felt completely disgusted with myself.  So instead of spending my 10th summer in a row covered up, I decided this was my year.  This was the year I was going to finally get my shit together and figure out how I wanted to feel the rest of my life.

The kick start for me was asking a fairly new friend in my life if she wanted to run with me.  She had just had a baby, had never run before, and I thought maybe the two of us could push each other to do this.

We started slow.  I ran the C25K program quite a bit for the first month, as well as doing the 30 Day Shred DVD – Level 1.

I also began tracking my food with the iPhone app, LoseIt.  This was a huge step for me – to really examine what I was eating on a daily basis and to realize what I was doing to my body in terms of fat, salt and sugar intake.  I have never been one to grab the apple over the chips and I had to retrain myself on how to eat.

I still have slip-ups.  Now that we’re in a heat wave, it’s near impossible for me to avoid a frozen yogurt cone or ice cream cone with my kids after dinner.  This sugar addiction is deadly and I HAVE TO KICK IT.

The good thing is that since March, I’ve lost 15.5 pounds.  I *was* down 17.5 but two weeks ago I gained a couple pounds and I seem to be stuck.  I’m still running.  I’m playing ball hockey once a week, baseball once a week and doing the 30 Day Shred, Zumba and several core conditioning classes at the gym.  This is not me.  I don’t know who I am anymore.  When my running partner asked me to play ball hockey and then baseball, I was panicky and sweaty over it.  Now? I LOVE these things and can’t wait to get out there.  The people I’ve met are so nice and amazing.  I feel alive for the first time in years.

Having said that, I’m stuck.  And every day that goes by that I still see 175.5 on the scale, the more I obsess about it.  It’s been two weeks!

I tried increasing my caloric intake from the 1199 it was supposed to be to 1449 – to see if eating more often, smaller meals would help.  It doesn’t.

I’m now increasing protein and as of tomorrow – cutting out sugar.  It seems to stick to me just like you’d think it would.

That’s it for now.  It’s late and I have a workout planned for the morning.

Actions

Information

18 responses

27 05 2010
Lisa

Someone told me once that your body has certain set points that it remembers and likes to hang out there for a while. I don’t know how true it is, but maybe 175.5 was a weight your body was comfortable at for a while and it remembers that set point. I was told when that happens that you just have to keep doing what you’re doing and eventually it will let go and start losing weight again. It worked for me but man, being patient is hard!

I’m glad you have new writing digs! I missed your words 🙂

27 05 2010
Lisa

oops…forgot to subscribe!

29 05 2010
Lara

Good luck! I need to lose a LOT of weight and now that my twins are one I have no more excuses not to get started.

Would you recommend the Loseit iphone app?

31 05 2010
Sugarpants

@Lisa – thank you! Come to think of it, I was at 176 in 2007 for a short period of time, then regained.

@Lara – yes – absolutely – it really got my eating in check. I love the entire app. If you get it, let me know and we can add each other as friends on there! The forums are really good too (online).

31 05 2010
Renée (@lowfatpie)

nice 🙂 glad you are blogging your progession here! great loss since March alone,really fantastic. I’m sure you will see your goal – I like your determination! I too refuse to be covered up one more summer.

1 06 2010
Sugarpants

Yay – we can do this together!

31 05 2010
Nat

Well done on the 15 pounds. Plateaus are hard and demoralizing… hang in there.

I think I need to d/l the lose it app.

1 06 2010
Sugarpants

Nat – I’m so glad to see you here! You’ve always inspired me. And I highly rec’d the LoseIt app. I think it’s still free, but even if it’s not – it has changed my life.

31 05 2010
flutter

I am proud of you and you have inspired me to do the same.

1 06 2010
Sugarpants

Thanks so much for coming over here – I truly appreciate you being here. It’s hard to put those numbers out there, but it’s nice to know my friends are here. xo

1 06 2010
Alicia P

We are almost the same height and starting weight! I am 5’6″ and was 215. I lost 67 pounds doing turbo jam and ww. Now I am losing another 15 or so. 🙂

2 06 2010
Sugarpants

Good for you! That’s awesome Alicia!

2 06 2010
Bryna

Good for you! You and I sound very similar in weight and history. I was on the track to losing weight a few years ago, until I started grad school–and then when I had a baby in November, most of the extra weight I gained from that just stuck. So now I’m trying to drop about 30 lbs by the baby’s 1 year birthday, and hopefully keep going from there. Keep up the inspiring posts!

2 06 2010
Sugarpants

It’s hard work – good luck Bryna!

3 06 2010
Lotta

So inspiring!

3 06 2010
Sugarpants

thanks budbud. I’m glad you’re here.

11 06 2010
50 Pounds and Drunk Athletes « No More Muffintop

[…] 11 06 2010 This morning I stepped on the scale to discover that the hemp hearts, on top of everything else, had broken my plateau.  […]

22 06 2010
50 Pounds and Drunk Athletes | No More Muffintop

[…] morning I stepped on the scale to discover that the hemp hearts, on top of everything else, had broken my plateau.  […]

Leave a Reply

