50 Pounds and Drunk Athletes

11 06 2010

This morning I stepped on the scale to discover that the hemp hearts, on top of everything else, had broken my plateau.  YAY!

Also, as of today, I have lost 50 pounds since 2006, and 21 of those pounds were since March of this year.  So if you’re once of those people who saw me at BlogHer or Avitaween – I was stuck at 191 ish then, but I used to weigh 220.  Now I’m at 170.  30 pounds to go!  Maybe more!

50 pounds.

I am so proud.  I know it’s been a long, long journey, but I feel like now I’ve got everything going right – the food, the activity, the attitude.

Nothing can stop me from knocking off the next 30 pounds to get to my goal weight.  Except beer.  That might slow me down a bit over the summer.  Heh.

My husband called me yesterday and asked me if I’d like to do a triathlon with him.  He’s recently started biking at night and considering how hard he works physically (10 hour days, in all kinds of weather), I’m impressed that he has decided to get on this fitness kick with me.  He’s always been in pretty good shape, save for a bit of a beer belly and he plays hockey and baseball. It’s nice to see him getting out there to work off the beer!  =)

Anyway.  A triathlon.  Eep!

I’ve thought about it but never really researched any of it and so after googling and reading and asking friends to chime in, I discovered there’s a lot involved with a triathlon.

Like wearing a swimsuit for instance.  Oh sweet baby Jebuddah, really?  Alternately, you can rent/buy a wetsuit and wear that over your cycling/running clothes.  Okay.  Maybe that will be okay.

Then there’s docking  your bike at a ‘transition station’ while you’re swimming.  And being expected to ‘ride wet’ (unless you wear a wetsuit and peel it off before you ride).  Apparently that isn’t as uncomfortable as you might think.  Certainly more comfortable than all the ‘air quotes’ I’m using in this ‘post.’

I have so many questions before I commit to the “Tri a tri” we’re considering.  I’m not sure I’m ready for a full triathlon just yet.  The Tri a tri is a 375 swim, 10 k bike ride and then a 2.5km run.  I think I can handle that.  But the logistics are throwing me into a tizzy.

So let’s say I rent a wetsuit (or buy one).  I get out of the lake, peel it off and put it where?  A backpack? And where are my runners?  Cuz I will need those for riding and running.  And if I have to carry a backpack for the last two parts, won’t that suck royally?

Oh and there are all these things that can get you disqualified, like not passing cyclists fast enough – you have 15 seconds.  Or undoing the strap on your helmet before docking your bike or not having your helmet strap on before taking your bike too.  Safety first people.

I’m a little less worried about these rules than I am about getting kicked in my pretty face during the swim.  Really the swim is the most daunting.  Because of my pretty face and all.  Does anything else really matter?  I’m a strong swimmer, but like driving at night, I’m worried about the other people who could possibly be drunk.  Or something.  Because you see a lot of drunks at a triathlon.

This summer is going to take some serious training if I sign up for this ridiculousness.  Which I probably will because I’m certifiably insane.  Maybe I should sign up and just show up drunk.

Psst.  Do me a favour.  A little one.  Go tell @temptingmama she should do it with me.  She loves when I annoy her in such sneaky ways.

Actions

Information

17 responses

11 06 2010
Wendy

Sprint tris really are a lot of fun. Here’s the deal about your gear: you’ll set up a transition station where you’ll leave your bike and your running gear while you swim. You swim, run to transition, drop off your wetsuit there and then get on your bike gear. Bike, come back, drop your helmet and do the run. You come back at the end of the race and pack up all your stuff. No backpacks required for the race itself!

Personally, I’d rather not use a wetsuit for a sprint tri (if the water is warmish or at least not freezing) because it takes me longer to get it off and on than the swim itself.

I did my first sprint tri last September ( I weighed about 240 at the time. And I didn’t come in last. You really do see all sizes there) and I have never been more proud of myself. http://athleticmonkey.wordpress.com/2009/09/21/race-report/

11 06 2010
Sugarpants

Thank you SO MUCH Wendy – I read your 4 recaps and a bunch of your blog today – you are great at recapping those things and a true inspiration!

11 06 2010
Wendy

Oh, gosh– thanks! That is really nice to hear. I enjoy your blog as well and am totally inspired by your weight loss.

11 06 2010
Ren

Dooooo it!!!

Hmm… can I justify a trip to Canadia for a mini-tri… *maybe* if my wife can manage to schedule a business trip at the right time…. :-)

11 06 2010
Sugarpants

Do it! If you want the link, let me know!

11 06 2010
Finn

Well… good luck with all that. ;)

11 06 2010
sam {temptingmama}

Best. Reply. Ever.

11 06 2010
Sugarpants

Bwahahaha…you’re awesome Finn.

11 06 2010
sam {temptingmama}

Dude. I want to. I really really do. I just have to, you know, get my lady bits not to fall asleep as soon as they hit the seat.

Wait.

That came out wrong.

Maybe. Maybe I will… I skeered.

11 06 2010
Sugarpants

It’s only 10k on the bike dude. That’s like a half hour at most. You can do that! I’ll get over the fear of the swim if you get over the fear of your ladybits freezing up!

16 06 2010
Zoeyjane

‘Lady bits freezing up’ seems like it’s a comment on an entirely different kind of post.

PS. You should totally do it. Because basically, everything I see you doing online, I wanna do. And this could be the whole reason I finally learn how to swim.

12 06 2010
Lisa

Now *I* want to do one! You’re a bad influence ;-)

15 06 2010
Sugarpants

Yes, i know. Horrible really!

12 06 2010
Karen Chatters

Maybe you can find a tri that’s near you and go watch, see how other people make the transitions and such. I don’t think it’s really that big of a deal, I think (totally guessing) that you leave your stuff at the transitions. You should totally do it (I say as I sit here, eating bon bons), you’d kick ass!

15 06 2010
Sugarpants

That’s a great idea! I will definitely look into that!

13 06 2010
Finola

There are a few other types of triathlons too. My husband and I just did the Ottawa Riverkeeper Triathlon this weekend where we did the canoe relay team challenge. No swimming even! Together we canoed 5K, then he biked 20K, then I ran 5K. The best part for me was that I got to rest in between the canoe and the run. And being on a team together is pretty good for the old marriage!
Check out http://www.finolablog.com for my post.

15 06 2010
Sugarpants

Oooh I like the idea of no swimming! Will look into that and your blog too! Thanks Finola!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

