I Don’t Know Who I Am Anymore

3 06 2010

So along with running, walking, cycling, Shredding, lifting weights and generally moving at every opportunity, on a whim I went to a Zumba class at my gym about a month ago, and FELL. IN. LOOOOVE.

If you’ve never heard of Zumba, it’s a dance class comprised of Latin and hip-hop moves, set to Latin and/or popular music.  My instructor is a new mom and lively and fun, as well as great with her cues, pointing in the direction we’re about to go.  The hour flies by and by 15 minutes in, sweat is pouring off of us.

Needless to say, it’s my absolute favorite workout.

The only issue I have with it is that the shoes I wear (my running shoes that I wear for all walking and running) have too much traction and so the torque on my knees is painful or impossible at times.

So I went online to look at what other bloggers recommend for Zumba shoes, and found these: Capezio® Unisex “Fierce” Dansneaker

My knees can’t wait until they arrive.

The other thing?  I’ve never, ever bought dance shoes in my life.  I’ve never, ever thought I ever would.  I’m stunned at myself.  Stunned I tell you.

One more thing?  I’m truly practicing all the dance moves with the DVDs at home and I’m seriously considering going through to be a Zumba certified instructor.  The next session is August 12th and it’s 3 hours away.  I’m not sure I’ll be ready that quick but I’m going to talk to my teacher next week.  Maybe.  I’m kinda nervous about it.  Like, uhhh, me?  A dance instructor?

Yeah.  Like I said, I don’t know who I am anymore.

Capezio® Unisex “Fierce” Dansneaker

Actions

Information

11 responses

3 06 2010
Finn

It’s a whole new world!

I never take classes unless it’s yoga for one reason: I suck at remembering dance moves. I can never keep up. Plus, as a lefty, I always want to go left when everyone else goes right! I’m all assbackwards.

I’m glad you’re having fun. I think you should go for becoming an instructor. You’d get paid to do something you love doing. What’s better than that?

3 06 2010
Sugarpants

I don’t know – I don’t think I’ll be ready that quick. I’ll make the promise to practice practice practice through June and if there is still a spot available, I will go and do it.
OH MY GOD I AM CRAZY.

3 06 2010
Lisa

You make Zumba sound so fun!! I’m going to have to try it. I think you should totally go for being an instructor!

3 06 2010
Sugarpants

You think so too? OMG. What if I forget everything the first time I go to teach a class?

3 06 2010
SeattleRunnerGirl

Girl, get out of my head! You are going through EXACTLY what I went to after my first few Zumba classes! Dancing shoes? Check. Thoughts of becoming an instructor? Check. I LOVE Zumba! :)

4 06 2010
getouttamyhouse

I wanna Zumba in the baddest way.

Do you think they will take me wearing RoboBoot, a sling and a neckbrace?

No?

That is discrimination, yo.

4 06 2010
Kelley @ Magnetoboldtoo

BTW, that was me. You know, the chick that will kick your arse at Zumba AND make you lose the game.

Logged in wrong account. Dammit.

5 06 2010
Kim Tracy Prince

Ooohhh, girrrl.

There is much of the Zumba at my blog. It’s the only exercise I do right now, even though I am still out of shape and feel like vomiting every time. Whee!

5 06 2010
Sherry

I just tried the 20-minute express workout today for the first time. I loved it as much as I thought I would – it’s ridiculously fun! I prefer exercise that doesn’t actually FEEL like exercise and Zumba’s perfect for that.

I think I’m hooked. I need the rest of the DVDs now. And maybe a class to try out.

6 06 2010
Michael B.

Lisa has a pair of those crazy shoes for work. The barefoot / minimalist footwear devotee in me cringes at the site of them, but I guess they’re supposed to be good for something! I don’t get it, but whatev. Enjoy!

7 06 2010
So My Very Best Friends Think I’m Crazy « No More Muffintop

[...] I am considering becoming a Zumba instructor.  11 weeks ago I hadn’t heard of Zumba. Today I am LOVING my [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

