Working the Numbers

2 06 2010

On LoseIt, you can see the nutritional information for your day or week, and that includes the percentages of protein, fats and carbs.  For a while I’ve been playing around with my diet to see how I lose the most amount of weight the fastest.

For me (and this may not work for everyone), I find that the ratio of approx 28% protein, 48% carbs and 24% fat (or as close to that as possible) works best for me.  Especially when I get 80-105 grams of healthy protein in per day.  This means lean turkey, lean cheese, chicken, and Genuine Health Transform + drink (one a day, made with water, after workouts).  If I stick to this, I lose about a pound a day.  It’s truly a breakthrough for me and very exciting because for months I’d make a healthy smoothie and the sugar in all that fruit was not helping my cause – until I added whey protein to the drink.

What else I’m learning is that if I don’t like a class or an exercise, I don’t stick to it.  If I’m not happy doing it, I won’t keep it up.  I tried a step class a few weeks ago and hated it.  I felt uncoordinated, out of place, and I fell on my butt by tripping over the friggin’ step.  Now I’ve never been the most coordinated person, even as a kid, but Zumba suits me way better since there’s nothing to trip over.

As for running, lately it’s been way too hot to do it.  The 8k I did a couple of weeks ago?  Yeah.  80-90 degree heat + humidity.  A guy collapsed, many were puking, it was stupid.  I felt great after, but super tired.  I had my Transform+ and bunch of water when we got home and crashed into a hard nap – probably the best nap I’ve ever had, where I dreamt of The Cheesecake Factory the entire nap.  Ha.

I’ve really been enjoying my bike lately.  Even if it’s hot, it’s enjoyable to make your own breeze!  Yesterday I tried really hard to beat my husband’s time of 24 km in an hour, but I only got to 17km in that time.  The first 7 km were against really strong winds and I felt like I was going in slow motion.  It was a great workout.  I’m still getting used to the seat so my nether regions won’t go numb after a half hour so there’s that.  And yes, I bought a gel seat cover – but by the time I get to an hour, I can’t wait to get off the bike and return bloodflow to my bird.

Today’s weight: 172.  48 pounds gone.  Woot!  I haven’t been in the 160’s in YEARS and can’t wait to get there.

Actions

Information

8 responses

2 06 2010
Finn

Thanks for sharing this. I think a lot of people don’t realize that they have to find a diet and exercise regime that works for them.

The weirdest thing about this for me is your actual weight. I would have never guessed when I met you that you weighed as much as you say you did. I bet you look awesome now.

3 06 2010
Sugarpants

Ya when I saw you – I was about 187-189. I gained a few after Avitaween. :)

I’m afraid I will use this template for eating for long enough that it’s effectiveness will wear off as I change more. I think it’s going to constantly going to be changing.

3 06 2010
Elizabeth Kaylene

I haven’t had a bike since I was a kid. I’ve been really missing it lately. I have so many bills to pay, though, so I should totally not be thinking about buying a bike. Still, it was a lot of fun and I know it would help me lose weight. What to do?

I’m glad you’ve found stuff that works for you. My issue is that I just can’t stick to anything. I want to try your smoothie recipe, though. How many ounces does it yield?

3 06 2010
Sugarpants

Can you join Freecycle in your area and pick one up? Or Kijiji – I’ve had good luck there with stuff.

That recipe is not my smoothie recipe – it’s just a free template – hahaha… I DO have a smoothie recipe though and I will post it soon, k?

3 06 2010
Sugarpants

aaand I changed the theme – I found the other one was hard to read. I’m getting old, yanno. :)

3 06 2010
Heather

Wow, that’s a huge accomplishment. You are motivating me to lose the 50 pounds of baby weight I’ve put on. Do you have any tips on food tracking? I am keeping a food journal which is awesome when it comes to watching what I eat. What is your method for tracking food? As you eat, with a meal plan, at the end of the day? That seems to be where I get borked.

And bikes are so fun, I wish I had one to ride but I gave it away. It may be time to invest in a new one!

3 06 2010
Sugarpants

Heather – I use the iPhone app LoseIt. I plan in my head based on the food I buy – my family has always eaten generally very healthy, it was me that lost control with pregnancy, twice, and then Post Partum Depression made me even worse. My kids are older now, no longer babies and I figure it’s my turn to look after myself, which is what I should have been doing all along! :)

3 06 2010
Lisa

I need to pay more attention to my percentages -I haven’t up to now. Ever since I got the cold from hell I’ve been stalled out at the same weight.

I am obsessed with the idea of buying a bike! They’re so much though and there is always something more worthy of the $$. I have to figure out the aching hootie part though cuz damn.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

